Demorabilia was released 17 March 1999
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars6 Stars7 Stars8 Stars9 Stars10 Stars (24 votes, average: 8.88 out of 10)


Type Cat No. Label Country
CD PCCY-01342 Pony Canyon Japan
HQCD PCCY-50023 Pony Canyon Japan
Track List
Title Writers Length
01. One Of These Days (Escape – Nov 83) C.Troy/T.Troy/C.Burr/D.Potts 3′ 09″
02. Wasted Love (Escape – Nov 83) C.Troy/T.Troy/C.Burr/D.Potts 3′ 40″
03. Fantasy (Escape – Nov 83) C.Troy/T.Troy/C.Burr/D.Potts 3′ 48″
04. Woman Of The Night (Escape – Nov 83) C.Troy/T.Troy/C.Burr/D.Potts 3′ 26″
05. I Don’t Take Prisoners (Escape – Nov 83) C.Troy/T.Troy/C.Burr/D.Potts 3′ 47″
06. Born Evil (Escape – Nov 83) C.Troy/T.Troy/C.Burr/D.Potts 3′ 33″
07. The Horn (Escape – Nov 83) C.Troy/T.Troy/C.Burr/D.Potts 3′ 07″
08. Top Of The Mountain (Escape – Nov 83) C.Troy/T.Troy/C.Burr/D.Potts 4′ 06″
09. All Over Again (Praying Mantis – Late 83) C.Troy/T.Troy 3′ 45″
10. Romancer (Praying Mantis – Late 83) T.Troy 3′ 37″
11. Your Number (Praying Mantis – Late 83) T.Troy/D.Potts 3′ 52″
12. Give Me A Reason (Praying Mantis – June 83) C.Troy/T.Troy/S.Carroll/D.Potts 3′ 29″
13. Heartache (Praying Mantis – Winter 81 – Tom Jackson Vocal) C.Troy/T.Troy/S.Carroll/D.Potts/T.Jackson 2′ 26″
14. A Question Of Time (Praying Mantis – Aug 81) T.Troy/C.Troy/S.Carroll/D.Potts 4′ 13″
15. I Need Your Loving (Praying Mantis – Aug 81) T.Troy/C.Troy/S.Carroll/D.Potts 2′ 56″
16. Battle Royal (Praying Mantis – Aug 81) T.Troy/C.Troy 3′ 34″
17. Time Slipping Away (Praying Mantis – Aug 81) T.Troy/C.Troy/S.Carroll/D.Potts 4′ 37″
18. Got To Get It (Praying Mantis – Jan 83) J.Bavin/T.Troy/C.Troy/D.Potts/B.Shaw 3′ 31″
19. Over And Over (Praying Mantis – Jan 83) J.Bavin/T.Troy/C.Troy/D.Potts/B.Shaw 3′ 21″
20. Never Say No ((Praying Mantis – Jan 83) J.Bavin/T.Troy/C.Troy/D.Potts/B.Shaw 3′ 31″
21. Heat Of The Moment (Escape – Late 83) T.Troy/C.Troy/C.Burr/B.Shaw 3′ 36″
22. Whose Life Is It Anyway? (Escape – Late 83) T.Troy/C.Troy/C.Burr 3′ 50″
23. Enough Is Enough (Praying Mantis – May 83) T.Troy/C.Troy/J.Bavin/D.Potts 3′ 38″
24. Raining In Kensington (Praying Mantis – May 83) J.Bavin 4′ 13″
25. Nightmares (Praying Mantis – May 83) T.Troy 3′ 08″
26. Give Me A Reason (Praying Mantis – Aug 81 – Chris Vocal) C.Troy/T.Troy/S.Carroll/D.Potts 4′ 31″
27. The Story (Praying Mantis – Aug 81 – Chris Then Steve Vocal) C.Troy/T.Troy/S.Carroll/D.Potts 6′ 36″
Name Instrument
Bernie Shaw Lead Vocals On Most tracks
Chris Troy Bass guitar, Background Vocals, Lead Vocals
Tino Troy Lead guitar, Background Vocals, Keyboards
Don Garbett Keyboards On Nov 83 tracks
Clive Burr Drums On Most Escape Tracks
Jon Bavin Keyboards On May and June 83 Tracks
Steve Carroll Lead guitar, Background Vocals, Lead Vocals On 81 tracks
Dave Potts Drums On most Praying Mantis Tracks
Tom Jackson Lead Vocals
Interview Links
What Source
Dave Potts Exclusive
Additional Information
Studios Engineering
•Various •Various
Mixer/Producer Artwork
•Various •Taka Shibayama Tino Troy drew the Family Tree
General Notes
This is a two cd set of demos (hence a lower standard of sound quality) that
mainly features the vocals from Uriah Heep’s Bernie Shaw era’s of Escape and
Praying Mantis. The packaging on this one is really nice and it contains a family
tree of the band written out by Tino Troy himself.
Demorabilia Package

Back to Discography


I have been a Praying Mantis fan since I first heard "Captured City" on Metal for Muthas. Time Tells No Lies has always been on of my favourite albums and I was overjoyed when I first discovered it was out on CD. I didn't know what had happened after the first album until in about 1994 I discovered "A Cry For The New World". I was worried about getting it as I thought it had to be a disappointment but I was wrong. I loved it and have followed the band and maintained this website ever since.

Posted in Discography
3 comments on “Demorabilia
  1. Burn Magazine says:

    From Burn Magazine In Japan. Translated for me by Yoko. (Thanks)

    Demorabilia – Praying Mantis

    This is a double CD of unreleased songs that the Troy brothers had. It also
    includes demos of not only Praying Mantis but also Escape (Stratus). A band
    the Troys started with ex-Iron Maiden drummer Clive Burr and ex-Grand Prix vocalist
    Bernie Shaw. You can’t expect much of the sound production as these are demos.
    This album is not just worth it for the demos but also for the packaging which
    contains rare photos etc. This album will be a treasure for Praying Mantis fans.
    Eventually The Horn on Disc 1 and Battle Royal on Disc 2 saw the light of day
    on “Predator In Disguise” which was Praying Mantis’s first studio album after
    their 1990 NWOBHM reunion. As you can guess “Time Slipping Away” on Disc 2 is
    the original of “Time Slipping Away”

  2. Underground Empire Metal Megazine says:

    Another double CD from Japan, not cheap at all, but worth the money for EVERY AOR-fan. With on the whole 27 ESCAPE tracks (the name the band called itself for a short time after their debut, before they then changed it in
    STRATUS, released an album and then finally turned it into PRAYING MANTIS again) and PRAYING MANTIS tracks which have not been released before, beautifully packed in a dark, noble hardcover, in which there is a jewel case inside with the two CDs. A very thick booklet with all texts, an oversized extra-booklet with many photos and an endlessly fold-out pedigree with all line-ups of the band. A paradise for all melodic lovers. The sound of
    these demo tracks is – of course – not that good, since they ARE demos. But when you behold that these old songs of the beginning of the 80s have been moldering in a cellar you really have to wonder that the latest JACOB’S
    DREAM doesn’t sound better either…

    Well this may sound evil, but it is rather a bonus for PRAYING MANTIS hehe..

    The song material itself is non-stop top-class. You can’t compare it to “Time Tells No Lies”, but the band never sounded like that again 😉
    It goes rather in the ways the last studio albums were. But stop: Who is reminded of the old days by the first 8 tracks is true: These are the ESCAPE-tracks. They sound rougher and a bit more like NWoBHM than the rest of the
    material. Strange that I like the PRAYING MANTIS songs even better afterwards.. More melodies, more plausibility. However, the right music to relax, to
    snuggle, to listen to while doing other things, cleaning, writing reviews…er.. listen to it! He who liked the last studio albums won’t make a mistake with that. And who does not like the price: take a look at the play
    time, two single albums also cost that much, and that bit of money more is spent with joy for those extensive corollary material (2 booklets, pedigree)!

    music: 8,0-9,5

    sound: 5,5-7,5

    time: 45:49 (CD1), 55:19 (CD2) (THE MIGHTY SCI!)

  3. Demorabilia

    These are a bunch, well, quite more than a bunch raw recordings which never saw the light, and now they were rescued to please us 🙂
    The material here is most sung by Bernie Shaw -at least the songs i like most-, though there are several singers and different line-ups…
    However you can find here some of the best NWOHM gems which never got enough appreciated.
    Enough is enough, Nightmares, Raining in Kensington (absolute outstanding power ballad), the Story, The Horn (which would make Predator in Disguise), Top of the mountain, Heat of the moment (not the cover)…
    I got it finally 2 years ago in ebay, so i am glad i could complete finally my mantis collection 🙂

    9/10 great to have

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 97 other subscribers